2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, 12 invisible), 2,120 guests, and 337 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 20 of 54 1 2 18 19 20 21 22 53 54
E
E
I'm a new member - heard about this in Perri Knize's book. I played piano as a child, and when I went off to college I stopped. 30 years later I was wandering through a music store and I sat down to play the digital pianos. The manager came over and asked me where I studied; when I said I didn't, he lectured me! I had just met my own inner voice, that voice that had been nagging me to start playing again. So I bought a Yamaha Clavinova and by sheer good luck I found the teacher of my dreams. I did well enough, played in some recitals, and practiced many many hours. I don't know when I started thinking about a grand piano, but I ended up searching for almost three years. I started out looking for a relatively inexpensive grand, and I played hundreds of them. Never could resist trying out some of the great pianos too, but never thought I could afford one. Then it happened to me - I played a truly great piano, a 1917 Steinway "O", and fell completely in love with it. Now I was REALLY miserable, but I really couldn't afford it and I knew it. Then my teacher offered to take me to his piano tech's studio to see if there was something I could handle. We looked at several pianos being rebuilt - a Steinway B, an A, and an O. The A and the B were too expensive even in their untouched state, and they both needed work. The "O" was so ugly I alm