2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Animisha, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, 12 invisible), 1,869 guests, and 263 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1893233 05/07/12 11:32 PM
N
nananda Offline OP
OP Offline
N
I have a second hand 2.5 year old yamaha clp 230 for $800 by a private seller. I have a budget of $1500, but of course being a student I would love the savings for $700 if the 230 is as good. The top of the line yamaha 430 is out of my budget as it costs almost 3k here in nyc. Is the clp 230 as good as the ydp 141/161 ? I looked at the differences between the two and I could not understand them.

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
The CLP-320 was largely equivalent to the YDP-161, but featured the GH3 action.

I'm not terribly familiar with the CLP-230, however provided the instrument is in good condition, and has been looked after, $800 sounds like a pretty good deal.

Cheers,
James
x

Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 & occasional rare groove player.
T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T
regarding the YDPs, the 161 has a much better keyboard than the 141, and better amp and speakers.

But the older CLP230 is technically similar to the 161 both in terms of sampled sound and GH keyboard action. I would go for the clp 230, I think, so long as it's in perfect technical condition, and reasonable cosmetic condition.

Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI