2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
24 members (cmoody31, dh371, Fried Chicken, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, admodios, clothearednincompo, crab89, 7 invisible), 1,242 guests, and 309 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
doremi Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
My background is piano, and since recently, also keyboard, although without a pedalboard.

I notice that the Yamaha STAGEA D-DECK and the Roland ATELIER Combo AT-350C can be bought as a 2-manual keyboard alone without a pedalboard. I thought that they would be adequate initial learning vehicles, with the pedalboard (perhaps?) coming later.

Or do you have any other suggestions for a beginner who is afraid of pedal boards? shocked

I am 'doremi' because I play scales smile
My teacher is 'domisol' because he plays chords shocked
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Lots of musicians use organs without pedalboards. Probably the expression pedal is more important because a lot of people use their left hand to play bass. But in the long run, the pedals are a benefit and I think you'd be doing yourself a favor to learn them.

Ken

Hammond Organ Technician
Piano Torturer
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
There are some very basic Pipe Organs with only a single manual, or in some cases, 2 manuals without pedals. Mind you, they're harder to play, as you can't hold a pedal note or run while you use your left hand to change stops or presets. But then, most of these very small organs don't have many stops to play around with anyway.