2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
27 members (clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., David B, Fried Chicken, AlkansBookcase, 8 invisible), 1,163 guests, and 298 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Y
ysolla Offline OP
OP Offline
Y
Hello all
I am hoping you good folks here could point me in the right direction. I've been lurking around here for, oohhh, about a year now, but really am no further forward.

I am a total beginner to music. I love listening to it, I adore piano and just over a year ago we purchased one for my son to learn. He's 7 yrs old and started lessons at school in October past. I use his homework lessons for me too, but feel they are progressing a little too slow for me, mind you, I don't think I need to go too fast either! I just want to be able to find pieces I like and learn to play them, I'm not wanting to do my various grades/exams, etc. I did get Alfreds basic, all-in-one, level one book. But I get stuck on timing when I don't know how a piece should sound. So I've basically ground to a halt with the exception of my son's lessons, which I love, but as I say, I think I can learn a little faster than him, up to a point anyway. He is using John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course Part 1, if any of you know it - we're a couple of weeks away from finishing the book. I am still playing bang in the middle of the keyboard. Oh yes, I'm not playing with both hands simultaneously yet either. If you need more detailed info on what I do know, let me know and I'll happily furbish you with the necessaries.