2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, 5 invisible), 1,912 guests, and 305 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1796269 11/26/11 01:58 PM
S
OP Offline
S
I would appreciate any opinions or experiences with a student having 2 piano teachers at the same time.
I am an adult middle aged student who started taking piano lessons at a music school about 4 years ago (no previous experience with any instrument). I practice regularly about 2 hours/day and have upgraded recently to a nice grand piano. The instruments at the school are OK to poor. My teacher is knowledgeable and experienced and I really enjoy working with her. Due to a recent change in my job schedule I had to shorten my lessons from 1 hour weekly to 45 minutes and it just does not seem like enough time- and it didn’t when we had an hour! Without going into boring details we cannot find another slot available at a mutually available time.
My first choice is to continue with my current teacher and supplement the lessons with a second teacher, preferably at my home where I can play on my own beloved piano.
I would continue to work on classical repertoire with my teacher and participate in Guild under her guidance, and any technique she assigns.