2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.9 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Petrof Pianos
Petrof Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Karsten Collection
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Who's Online Now
30 members (akc42, Brayden Jensen, AZNpiano, dima5222, camperbc, Chrispy, 9 invisible), 320 guests, and 409 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Kawai CA63 review
#1792063 11/19/11 03:37 PM
M
mdb2303 Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Background: I am a piano teacher, conscious of the fact that not all pupils have the luxury of space/easygoing neighbours/money to have an excellent acoustic piano, so always on the lookout for a possible digital substitute to recommend for their daily practice.

It's a long time since I tried a Kawai, partly due to the fact that not many retailers seem to stock them compared to Yamahas and Rolands. And it is a pity, because I'm very impressed with this instrument.

I passed an hour and a bit playing various excerpts from Cramer-Bulow and found the keyboard action excellent, at a par with many good acoustic pianos, responsive, easy on the fingers, with a nice amount of weight, good return, nice feel, not cluncky, not plastic, lovely soft landing when pressing the key right down. The closest I've come to a similar action is the AvantGrand, and I honestly don't think the "real" grand piano action of the AvantGrand is sufficiently different and better to be worth over twice the price of the CA63.