2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, Carey, CharlesXX, 10 invisible), 1,706 guests, and 300 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
E
eNathan Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Hi all! I've been reading around this forum a lot now.. finally decided to register and give it a go.

So I am a beginner piano player, I've been playing for about 2 years, and I'm looking to finally upgrade from my non-weighted flimsy keyboard..

So I finally have saved up enough money to buy a digital piano and I want to get a good one. Originally, I was looking at a $500 price point and was going to get the Casio PX130, but after playing everything at guitar center I think I want something more piano-like, and the Yamaha ydp141 felt and sounded great.

The ydp161 was next to it, but my understanding is that the only difference is more amps for louder playing? However, I heard a few people say on this forum that the keys are better, but see no mention of this in the technical specs.

So my price point is really around $1200.. this is really the biggest purchase decision I've made in my life. So I just want to get a second opinion basically. I know there are many other digital pianos out there, but the only ones I can play in person are at guitar center. Is the YDP 141 a good choice for the price range, and is the only difference from the 161 the more powerful amp?