2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
62 members (AlkansBookcase, Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, 15 invisible), 1,825 guests, and 284 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 10 of 13 1 2 8 9 10 11 12 13
3000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
3000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by Monaco
I'm a beginner and it takes me less than 2 hours to tune,

"No bad cats. There are cooks who do not know how cook it's". Chinese folk wisdom

2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by Maximillyan
Originally Posted by Dan Casdorph
How long does it take you to tune a piano

Dan,If the piano is in good technical condition ( tight pin- pin's hole- pinblock ) then I shall tuning more than 5 hours, new 7-9 h

It took me about 4 mins to tune a single 3 string unison with the plucking method. Times 88 that's about the time you mention, taking into accounts not all notes have 3 strings but you also have to set a temperament.

Using either a muting strip or rubber dampers you can cut this time down to 1-2 hrs.

How do you set the temperament (make sure all intervals are equal)?

Kees

Kees

2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Kees,

You can see in the videos that Max's "temperament" (if one can call it that?!) is based on 4ths, 5ths and octaves, using major triads as auxiliary notes (marked in red below).

e.g.
A4 --> E4 (playing C#4,E4,A4)
A4 --> D5 (playing F#4,A4,D5)
D5 --> D4 (octave, or playing D major)
D4 --> G4 (playing B3,D4,G4)

etc. etc.