2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
74 members (amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, 14 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 314 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
C
OP Offline
C
I have been playing an acoustical piano for more than 10 years, mostly classical music (Chopin, Rachmaninoff, Liszt, ...). One year ago I moved to a different city for work and haven't played since then. I am now missing it so much that I decided to buy a digital piano (unfortunately an acoustical is not an option, for various reasons).

So far I tried the Roland HP305 and the Yamaha CLP440. I much prefer the keyboard of the Roland and also prefer the sound. However, I miss the clarity of the Yamaha in the sound of the Roland, especially in dense passages. On my next visit to the store I will be playing around with the different settings a little bit to see if that improves things.

A few days ago I found this forum, and after reading a bit it became clear that the Kawai DPs are very much appreciated here. So, my question is, how much trouble should I go through in order to try out a Kawai?
According to the Kawai store locator there are 2 Kawai resellers in my city; however they both sell only acoustical Kawais. I certainly would find one in the next big city, but a one-way trip there would cost me 30€ and 1h in addition to the time it takes to get to the store, which can easily take another 30min-1h.
Do you think the Kawai DPs are worth the trouble, or should I just get the Roland without having compared it to the Kawais?