Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Who's Online Now
139 registered members (AnthonyPaulO, Animisha, AlphaBravoCharlie, Andy R, APassionatePianist, anotherscott, agraffe, ando, 34 invisible), 1,740 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Running Ivory II #1770663
10/14/11 05:15 PM
10/14/11 05:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
J
jmdxx Offline OP
Junior Member
jmdxx  Offline OP
Junior Member
J

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Let me apologize in advance because I know so much has already been written here regarding Ivory II. However, everyone seems to have a different take on the best way to run it. My question goes out to all of you who successfully use Ivory II in live situations. I'm planning to buy a new mac pro notebook - I'm configuring it with a 2.7 GHz dual core i7 processor, 8gigs of ram, and a 128 gig solid state drive. Will this notebook successfully run Ivory II so I can use it on stage? If not, what do I need?

(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

Re: Running Ivory II [Re: jmdxx] #1770681
10/14/11 06:14 PM
10/14/11 06:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 408
Virginia
HwyStar Offline
Full Member
HwyStar  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 408
Virginia
jmdxx: You may want a bigger SSD since the OS and Ivory II will suck the whole thing up. I did not have enough space to also load the Italian Grand. The OS needs some room to breathe on the harddrive. You will also want to run some other tools as well.

Check out "Hideki Matsui". I think he is using a similar setup with no issues.


Kawai MP11 (v1), iMac 2017, Yamaha HS8's, Sennheiser 650, Focusrite 2i4, Pianoteq 6.4.0, Steinway Model A, Mason and Hamlin Model AA
Re: Running Ivory II [Re: HwyStar] #1770687
10/14/11 06:21 PM
10/14/11 06:21 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,540
US
G
gvfarns Offline
3000 Post Club Member
gvfarns  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
G

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,540
US
Just my two cents.

I don't use Ivory II but I use Galaxy II on an old core 2 duo (the earliest and slowest generation) with 3 gigs of RAM running windows XP. It takes up an insignificant part of the hard drive. Neither the processor nor hard drive are anywhere near being taxed when I play. They typically don't even spike up, even when I play with tons of pedal and reverb. I don't think normal current computers are close to being a problem. What you mention is a laptop, which is inherently slower, but otherwise dominates my system.

For me, at least, the only possible issue was my choice of sound interface and driver for the sound interface.

Re: Running Ivory II [Re: jmdxx] #1770705
10/14/11 07:07 PM
10/14/11 07:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 78
Tehran, Iran
R
reza Offline
Full Member
reza  Offline
Full Member
R

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 78
Tehran, Iran
I don't know about Ivory II but I am using my thinkpad T61p, that is a 2.4GHz dual core, 4GB Ram, workstation class laptop to run Reason Pianos. I have also connected it to an external USB sound card (NI Audio Kontrol One). Using samples around 400MB, normally I have no problem. But I cannot trust on it for a live performance. Sometimes it simply goes out of CPU and the software stops. This usually happens when I repeat a note very fast. Comparing with other virtual pianos like Akostik Piano and Grand 2, I can tell you that the software is more important than hardware. With the same setup, I could not manage to use Grand 2 with pedal. It was so CPU hungry. The same was true about Akostik Piano. Then I recommend you to get as fast and as many core that you can.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: Running Ivory II [Re: reza] #1770709
10/14/11 07:23 PM
10/14/11 07:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
J
jmdxx Offline OP
Junior Member
jmdxx  Offline OP
Junior Member
J

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks for the responses - A bigger hard drive sounds like good advice. As for more CPU - Is Ivory II designed for a quad core processor - I've read that unless software is designed for quad a higher GHz dual is better. Keep in mind I'll be drawing off of a solid state disk -which should help the computer keep up.

Also, I was under the impression that all the software I needed came with ivory - are their other drivers/ programs/ hardware needed?

Re: Running Ivory II [Re: jmdxx] #1770725
10/14/11 07:52 PM
10/14/11 07:52 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,773
Raleigh, North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
7000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
7000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,773
Raleigh, North Carolina
2.7 GHz dual core i7, 8 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD
That's way plenty enough.

Re: Running Ivory II [Re: jmdxx] #1770791
10/14/11 10:03 PM
10/14/11 10:03 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 408
Virginia
HwyStar Offline
Full Member
HwyStar  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 408
Virginia
You need the iLok at 40 bucks to run it. Its kind of a pain but that's piracy for you.

The tools I was referring to are other software pianos/effects etc.

You shouldn't see any issues with that CPU and the memory is good. Look at the recommend specs at Synthogy and the techs at Synthogy are really good at helping people, almost real-time. Even for prospective clients. They answered my questions before I bought my software.



Kawai MP11 (v1), iMac 2017, Yamaha HS8's, Sennheiser 650, Focusrite 2i4, Pianoteq 6.4.0, Steinway Model A, Mason and Hamlin Model AA
Re: Running Ivory II [Re: HwyStar] #1770800
10/14/11 10:31 PM
10/14/11 10:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,540
US
G
gvfarns Offline
3000 Post Club Member
gvfarns  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
G

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,540
US
Originally Posted by HwyStar
You need the iLok at 40 bucks to run it. Its kind of a pain but that's piracy for you.


And one of the main reasons I recommend Galaxy Pianos II over Ivory.

Re: Running Ivory II [Re: HwyStar] #1770817
10/14/11 11:08 PM
10/14/11 11:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,675
Northern NJ
dewster Offline
4000 Post Club Member
dewster  Offline
4000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,675
Northern NJ
Originally Posted by HwyStar
You need the iLok at 40 bucks to run it. Its kind of a pain but that's piracy for you.

Nothing says "we value our loyal customers" like charging them extra because someone, somewhere, might be using their stuff without their permission. "The beatings will continue until morale improves."

I hope no one thinks I'm objectively pro-pirating or anything, but this is hilariously spot-on: http://www.thebuzzmedia.com/wp-cont...irate-movies-steps-to-watching-video.jpg

Last edited by dewster; 10/14/11 11:27 PM.
Re: Running Ivory II [Re: jmdxx] #1770823
10/14/11 11:25 PM
10/14/11 11:25 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,830
Hamamatsu, Japan
Kawai James Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,830
Hamamatsu, Japan
Not at all, they are simply protecting their investment.

James
x


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 & occasional rare groove player.

"I agree that the User Manual is very good." - arc7urus, March 2019
Re: Running Ivory II [Re: HwyStar] #1770844
10/15/11 12:16 AM
10/15/11 12:16 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,842
Redondo Beach, California
C
ChrisA Offline
3000 Post Club Member
ChrisA  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
C

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,842
Redondo Beach, California
Originally Posted by HwyStar
jmdxx: You may want a bigger SSD since the OS and Ivory II will suck the whole thing up. I did not have enough space to also load the Italian Grand. The OS needs some room to breathe on the harddrive. You will also want to run some other tools as well.

Check out "Hideki Matsui". I think he is using a similar setup with no issues.


The MacBook is fast enough to run six virtual pianos but the that disk is tiny.

Have you considered buying a "Mini". The Advantage of the Mini over the Macbook is the you can place a bluetooth keyboard and track pad any place you like, where as with a notebook you are stuck putting those right under the screen,


Re: Running Ivory II [Re: HwyStar] #1770846
10/15/11 12:22 AM
10/15/11 12:22 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,842
Redondo Beach, California
C
ChrisA Offline
3000 Post Club Member
ChrisA  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
C

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,842
Redondo Beach, California
Originally Posted by HwyStar
You need the iLok at 40 bucks to run it. Its kind of a pain but that's piracy for you. ...


It's stupid because it is so easy to get around it. You simply replace the device driver with one that emulates the iLok. Google iLok Emulator.

Re: Running Ivory II [Re: dewster] #1770859
10/15/11 12:42 AM
10/15/11 12:42 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,773
Raleigh, North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
7000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
7000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,773
Raleigh, North Carolina
Originally Posted by dewster
Nothing says "we value our loyal customers" like charging them extra because someone, somewhere, might be using their stuff without their permission.
http://www.thebuzzmedia.com/wp-cont...irate-movies-steps-to-watching-video.jpg

That link shows this:
[Linked Image]
But they forgot about this:
[Linked Image]

Re: Running Ivory II [Re: Kawai James] #1771927
10/17/11 01:20 AM
10/17/11 01:20 AM
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 80
Toronto, Canada
W
whitfit Offline
Full Member
whitfit  Offline
Full Member
W

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 80
Toronto, Canada
Originally Posted by Kawai James
Not at all, they are simply protecting their investment.

James
x


That is not necessarily the case - the question is up for debate. There are plenty of software companies that have done well without going to such measures, and plenty of people will not buy something that has a security measure that is a pain.

If you lose more customers than you gain by using such a system, you are actually failing to protect your investment.

Re: Running Ivory II [Re: whitfit] #1772026
10/17/11 07:52 AM
10/17/11 07:52 AM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 549
Atlanta GA USA
B
bfb Offline
500 Post Club Member
bfb  Offline
500 Post Club Member
B

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 549
Atlanta GA USA
Originally Posted by whitfit
Originally Posted by Kawai James
Not at all, they are simply protecting their investment.

James
x


That is not necessarily the case - the question is up for debate. There are plenty of software companies that have done well without going to such measures, and plenty of people will not buy something that has a security measure that is a pain.

If you lose more customers than you gain by using such a system, you are actually failing to protect your investment.


agree. ultimately, it is the marketplace that decides. I just installed Ivory 2 over the weekend. i would have preferred to authorize it and then just have it password protected, but i guess that is too easy for abusers to get around. i do like the fact that in theory i can load the software on several different computers and can just move the dongle to use them as i prefer. i always worry about expensive programs that i want to keep using after i switch out computers- invevitably i lose the passwords or user account information and with some of these music software vendors it is really tough to get in touch with them to reauthorize a new installation.

by the way, have others had the same issue with DVD3 not loading on installation? i had to download the corrupted or screwed up file - bosendorfer 11- off their website- it takes some time to download a 2GB file online! but all in all- for that big an installation- pretty smooth. and it looks like they have a hands-on operation in responding/ helping with questions.


Steinway M; Roland V-Piano; Yamaha P250;
Ivory II Grands, Italian, American D; Galaxy Vintage D; True Keys American; UVI Yamaha C7; Ravenscroft 275; Garritan CFX
Re: Running Ivory II [Re: whitfit] #1772072
10/17/11 09:07 AM
10/17/11 09:07 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,773
Raleigh, North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
7000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
7000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,773
Raleigh, North Carolina
Originally Posted by whitfit
If you lose more customers than you gain by using such a system, you are actually failing to protect your investment.
Well, that's the central point. But I think the selling companies have the answer. They know what's at stake. If they've decided to use dongle-based protection then they quickly learn whether it pays off for them, or not.

Meanwhile, you and I are not in a position to know their losses from pirated software. So we cannot know whether the dongles help their position or hurt it, though I'm guessing the former.

Re: Running Ivory II [Re: MacMacMac] #1772099
10/17/11 09:51 AM
10/17/11 09:51 AM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 549
Atlanta GA USA
B
bfb Offline
500 Post Club Member
bfb  Offline
500 Post Club Member
B

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 549
Atlanta GA USA
Originally Posted by MacMacMac
Originally Posted by whitfit
If you lose more customers than you gain by using such a system, you are actually failing to protect your investment.
Well, that's the central point. But I think the selling companies have the answer. They know what's at stake. If they've decided to use dongle-based protection then they quickly learn whether it pays off for them, or not.

Meanwhile, you and I are not in a position to know their losses from pirated software. So we cannot know whether the dongles help their position or hurt it, though I'm guessing the former.


i think these music specialty software companies are essentially small businesses looking for any way they can to offload some of their cost structure to a third party. bringing pace/ilok into the mix to manage piracy probably helps them spend less time and money worrying about it themselves. the problem is there isn't an industry standard, so you can wind up with dongles from iLok and Syncrosoft along with accounts set up at Native Instruments for the Kontakt player etc., etc... it becomes really burdensome to the user..

Last edited by bfb; 10/17/11 10:35 AM.

Steinway M; Roland V-Piano; Yamaha P250;
Ivory II Grands, Italian, American D; Galaxy Vintage D; True Keys American; UVI Yamaha C7; Ravenscroft 275; Garritan CFX
Re: Running Ivory II [Re: jmdxx] #1772118
10/17/11 10:23 AM
10/17/11 10:23 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,773
Raleigh, North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
7000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
7000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,773
Raleigh, North Carolina
On other boards, the feelings about dongles seem mixed. Some like the dongle for its ability to move from one computer to another. Others hate the dongles.

Dongle portability means nothing to me. I play piano at home, period. One computer laptop, no moving around. Anyway, I'm unaffected right now. I'm still using Ivory 1.5 ... no dongle needed. But I'm thinking about moving up to Ivory 2, which requires the dongle.

My problem is that the laptop has only three USB ports: one is for the mouse, one for the piano/MIDI, and one for the Presonus USB sound card. No port is available for the dongle!

Okay ... I could buy a MIDI cable and connect the piano via MIDI to the Presonus box, instead of via USB to the laptop. That would free a USB port for the dongle.

With that solution, I don't think I'll mind having a dongle.

Re: Running Ivory II [Re: jmdxx] #1772122
10/17/11 10:27 AM
10/17/11 10:27 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,830
Hamamatsu, Japan
Kawai James Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,830
Hamamatsu, Japan
You could ust use a USB hub for the mouse and dongle, while continuing to connect the USB MIDI and Presonus box directly to the computer.

Cheers,
James
x


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 & occasional rare groove player.

"I agree that the User Manual is very good." - arc7urus, March 2019
Re: Running Ivory II [Re: MacMacMac] #1772128
10/17/11 10:33 AM
10/17/11 10:33 AM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 549
Atlanta GA USA
B
bfb Offline
500 Post Club Member
bfb  Offline
500 Post Club Member
B

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 549
Atlanta GA USA
Originally Posted by MacMacMac

My problem is that the laptop has only three USB ports: one is for the mouse, one for the piano/MIDI, and one for the Presonus USB sound card. No port is available for the dongle!



i agree with that being a major issue. on the macbook there isn't a lot of space between the USB ports and they are all on one side. the concern about port real estate on a laptop is completely legitimate


Steinway M; Roland V-Piano; Yamaha P250;
Ivory II Grands, Italian, American D; Galaxy Vintage D; True Keys American; UVI Yamaha C7; Ravenscroft 275; Garritan CFX
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Piano World 

Shop Our Online Store!
Shop Our Store Online
Shop PianoSupplies.com

Did you know Piano World has an online store, and that it's loaded with goodies pianists and music lovers want?
Check it out and place your order.

Special Purchase!
Keyboard and Roses Piano Bench Cushion Keyboard & Roses 14"x30" piano bench cushions Regularly sold for $79 to $100, now only $39. (while supplies last)

(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Bechstein
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Craigslist Again!
by UnrightTooner. 03/26/19 06:53 AM
Best site to learn gospel music?
by chongjasmine. 03/26/19 06:35 AM
Piano marvel vs playground sessions?
by chongjasmine. 03/26/19 05:50 AM
Lifting the CA98
by iLogic. 03/26/19 02:58 AM
What's Hot!!
PIANO TEACHERS Please read this!
-------------------
European Tour for Piano Lovers
JOIN US FOR THE TOUR!
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Forum Statistics
Forums41
Topics191,134
Posts2,811,005
Members92,881
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

Sweetwater

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2019 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2