2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (AlkansBookcase, CharlesXX, bcalvanese, colinvda, Adam Reynolds, cascadia, ChickenBrother, CrashTest, 7 invisible), 2,166 guests, and 309 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
T
3000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
3000 Post Club Member
T
A family I teach for, they have this baby grand. Every week when I come the lid is open, so I think it stays that way. Should I get them to close it when not being played to keep the dust out?

does anyone ever clean inside? What would you recommend?

Disclaimer: I have no knowledge of who tuned their piano, and I did not, and have no intention of, quoting them how much a tuning costs. wink Just so we're clear.

6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
You made me smile. smile

I would recommend keeping the lid closed when the piano is not in use. If it remains open for many years, it will warp then it won't close. I ran into a Kimball grand, about, oh, 6'6" maybe that did this. The lid was never shut. When I tried closing it all the way, it was so warped, it wasn't even come close to closing. Plus, it helps a LOT to keep it cleaner inside when it closed. Sure, it's more work but, hey, it's exercise too! smile

Yes, we do clean inside. I even tell the customer to GENTLY showing them how to, clean inside of the piano telling them to leave the dampers and strings alone. If they must clean the dampers, I show them how to clean them without damaging them. It's pretty easy.

It's nice that you come to the house. That kind of teacher seems to be a dying breed. I don't know of anyone around here that does that anymore.