2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (20/20 Vision, 36251, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, 10 invisible), 1,461 guests, and 299 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
Jame334 Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I have learned piano for a number of years and I have always loved organ music, so I thought that maybe I should get in contact with our local church to let me practice on their organ. I have never played an organ and we don't have any teachers here either.

Is it possible to learn the organ on myself, even though I have no experience with it?
The main thing that worries me is the levers.

If this is an accessible goal, then how would I be of contacting our local church of this?

EDIT: I am continuously learning the piano.

Last edited by Jame334; 07/03/11 02:37 PM.
Churches will be reluctant to allow non-members use of their organ to learn on. It would be easier to approach a church that you belong to and have some history with. It isn't easy to learn organ without an instructor but it isn't impossible either, there are many Organ method books available to help you, and also Allen has some videos available to help people go from piano to organ that are very good.

Retired Army reserve Bandsman who now plays for the Joy of Music!!
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
grab a copy of Dickerson's the technique and art of organ playing and read it - 3.99 on ebay

it is full of great info.. all you'll need to know. plan on studying organ at school or with a teacher.. volunteer to play for services when you are ready.