2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (benkeys, Burkhard, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, Barry_Braksick, 11 invisible), 1,864 guests, and 300 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
C
OP Offline
C
Hey guys,

I've recently decided I want to get in better shape, for a variety of reasons. Cardio is great, and I'm running or swimming daily. However, I'm aware that cardio alone is not really a full workout-you have to do *some* strength training, too.

Thing is, as a professional pianist, I'm worried about damaging the small muscles in my hands from gripping heavy dumbbells or free weights on a regular basis. Is this a valid concern, or is it not really something that could happen? If it is a valid concern, what do you guys suggest someone like me do for strength training?

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by CleverName
....I'm worried about damaging the small muscles in my hands from gripping heavy dumbbells or free weights on a regular basis. Is this a valid concern....

I sure think so. For me it would be. Even just batting in baseball is a possible issue for that.

.....If it is a valid concern, what do you guys suggest someone like me do for strength training?

Anything where you could go gentler on the hands, if there be any such. smile
I'm not sure there is, other than the swimming which you're already doing.

If there isn't, then you do what you feel you need to do, but realize you might be sacrificing some piano stuff.

BTW, sounds like you're doing great with the conditioning, at least by any usual standards....

S
S