2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, 36251, benkeys, 8 invisible), 1,931 guests, and 318 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
Hello - New to the forums, but thrilled with the amount of advice, reviews, and great information here. I could use some help:

I'm a longtime classical pianist with an upright piano that is more of a sentimental piece of furniture than a working instrument. I'm a Navy spouse, so many years of moving have taken a hard toll on it. To this end, my husband has offered to buy me a high quality DP that will move with us for the next 15 years (approximately 5-7 more moves). Where I am stuck is whether to go with the more portable stage DP or the console? In college I played more stage DP's when accompanying some singing groups, but that was a while ago.

I have tested and like Roland HP 302 & 305 for the sound, but not so much on the key feel. The V-Piano is just - wow - for sound. But again, still not enamored with the key actions.

I have tried Yamahas - not thrilled with sound or play (only my personal preference). It's been a while since I've played a Kurzweil - I'm searching for a local dealer.

I do like Kawai. Having sampled the CN33, CN43, and CA63, I feel like I would probably pick the CN43, ALTHOUGH I truly loved the key action of the 63. I'm assuming this is the same play I could expect for the MP10, which makes that intriguing. Alas, trying to find one to actually try is impossible right now.