2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (36251, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, 10 invisible), 1,430 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1697923 06/19/11 04:48 AM
H
OP Offline
H
Hi, everyone,

I was expecting to find a lot of threads like these, maybe my Googling skills are not that great. I'm sorry if this has been covered already.

So I've been playing keys then piano for almost 12 years. I took lessons for about the first 3/4 of that time. I never practiced too much daily, and I'm far from being a great pianist.

Anyway, all the technique I developed was kind of ad hoc in the sense that it was acquired gradually and naturally when studying different songs and pieces, I never practiced scales, arppegios, the Hannon, anything. In spite of this, I'm not too discontent with my technique, it has allowed me to play more or less what I hear in my head. However, as I starded digging into jazz, I realized I still have much room to grow, and lately I've been wanting to play some runs which I have some difficulty playing. Not surprisingly, I can't play like Corea or Jarrett (not that I probably ever will).

I am trying to incorporate technique exercises into my practice routine, and therefore I would like to ask you what methods to follow, what to practice, for how long. Should I go with Hannon? How do you practice scales, 2 handed runs separated by one or two octaves along three or four octaves? Do you also practice modes and scales apart from the major/minor?

Thank you very much for your help. smile

T