2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Barly, 1957, btcomm, brennbaer, Animisha, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, 13 invisible), 1,912 guests, and 351 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
E
Eapfep Offline OP
OP Offline
E
I'm a 17 year old pianist who's been struggling to learn Jazz using Mark Levine's book. I'm an Intermediate-Advanced player.

Here are some questions/conclusions that I hope some people will be able to answer/confirm:

- Basically, in the key of C, with a II-V-I (D, G, C) chord progression, I use the C Dorion, C Mixolydian, and C Ionian modes respectively, paying careful attention to "avoid notes", which is F in the C Ionian and C in the C Mixolydian.

Am I allowed to use accidentals as well?

- What does it mean to say that B half-dimished (C Locrian Mode) has a natural C# in the left hand voicing?

- What's the difference between a 11th and a 4th? It's shown as the same note in a Gsus/G7 chord. What about the difference between a 9th and 2nd? Is there any reason people use different notations for the same note within a mode?

- Hypothetically, I'm playing E-7, A7, D-7, G7 in the key of C. I'm looking at an example within the book where they show a right hand improvised part, and it is riddled with sharps for the E-7 (Labeled as E Dorion) and A7. There is also a flat for G7.

We are playing in the key of C, why is it that there are so many sharps and flats, or are these merely accidentals?

Thanks in Advance!

More questions to come indefinitely!

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member