2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, Dalem01, 10 invisible), 1,869 guests, and 291 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
OP Offline
I want to provide my impressions on the V-Piano and its direct competitors from first-hand experience, and give some tips on how to listen for the differences yourself. I am a hobby jazz pianist doing user interface research for a living, so I tend to be particularly hard to please when it comes to ease-of-use.

I needed to replace my old DP that broke down recently. I play in a jazz combo, and my DP was for our band's practice room, and for gigs. My top priority was to get the most realistic piano sound and feel. A few days of online research at pianoworld and elsewhere revealed these candidates:
  • Roland V-Piano
  • Roland RD-700NX
  • Yamaha CP1
  • Nord Stage 2 / Nord Piano
  • Update: Added Kawai MP10 and Roland FP-7F - see page 2

I then spent half a day at a large music store that had all of the above set up and ready to play near each other. Tip: I had primed my ears beforehand by playing on my acoustic piano, carefully listening for the small things that make its sound come alive, and by listening to good piano recordings on CD.

Tip: bring your own headphones, noise-canceling or at least closed if possible. I took my own Bose QC 15 noise-canceling headphones for playing - highly recommended to block out the background cacophony in these stores. The sound was much, much clearer than with the Sennheiser HD 205 headphones provided by the store.