2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
26 members (crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, Kawai James, Fried Chicken, CraiginNZ, 8 invisible), 1,254 guests, and 280 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
K
OP Offline
K
I'm just starting out, so any advice will be much appreciated.

The instructions that I've read on shaping hammers all say to make sure that an even amount of felt is removed from the top and bottom. But what should be done when the hammer felt isn't symmetrical to begin with? Both the inner and outer felt are thicker on the top half of many hammers of the Baldwin acrosonic console that I'm working on. Is it possible that they were like that when new? The piano is 35 years old and moderately used; the hammers have never been filed. Making the hammers symmetrical now would seem to require taking off a lot of felt.

I've also read that when hammers are realigned to the strings, the strings will find their old grooves again, putting strain on the flange. At the same time, I understand that I should remove as little felt as possible at the striking point. How do you balance wanting to align the hammers to the strings and wanting to be conservative about taking felt off the striking point?

I'm also noticing with the action out of the piano that several hammers get stuck on the top of the damper felt on their way back. When the action was in the piano, all of the keys worked and I didn't notice any not returning to the rail. Is this an artifact of the action being out of the piano, or should I do something now to fix it?