2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, Carey, CharlesXX, 10 invisible), 1,657 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
H
OP Offline
H
Hello,

i am a novice at piano. i have 2 kids that will start piano lessons soon (age 6 & 8). i saw a listing on craiglist for Howard Baldwin baby grand approx 40 yrs old for $750. is this a good price for this piano? This is what is posted:

Baby Grand Piano seldom played, bought mostly for décor. I bought it used from H&H Music Company in May 1996. It is approximately 40 years old. It appears to have been refinished at one time. It does have a couple of scratches and is in need of tuning.
However, in good condition. Move at your own expense.

Should I jump at this? Thank you.

It could be a good deal, or not. I have a Baldwin Howard 5'8" grand from the early 1980's that I bought used for a lot more than $750, put $300 into tuning and some action work, and am well pleased.

However, before buying it, I spent $80 having a local RPT (Registered Piano Technician)/tuner examine it and give me a report of its actual condition. The RPT agreed with the seller's price as being a good (but not great) deal. I live in a small town, and grands that are affordable to me don't show up frequently.

Not knowing where you are, it may not be relevant, but having a local professional mover move the instrument (about 10 miles) to my home coat me an additional $350.

Jim Cason
Promised LAN Computing, Inc.
Howard C171 Grand, Kurzweil PC3X, PC3, PC361, PC2X, PC2.