2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
61 members (anotherscott, Bellyman, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, btcomm, 11 invisible), 2,007 guests, and 345 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
OP Offline
B
Hello!
I had a peculiar question...
I am a musician who plays by ear. I have had formal education in music and can read sheet notations, but that came later.
My daughter, who is 9years old has been taking piano lessons for about a year. She is showing great progress and according to her teacher, is quite advanced for a 1yr student. However, she obviously reads notation and plays. So far, she has completed Bastein's level 4, Mark Nevin's level 3 and is currently working on essential keyboard repertoire by lynn Olson.
However, seeing me improvise, she keeps asking me when she will be able to "listen" to a song and play it. I keep telling her that it will come with time if she keeps practising her books. However, she tries to play popular songs, which she obviously cannot and gets frustrated.
Honestly, I do not know how to teach to play by ear, neither I know how to answer her questions. She says that I don't just want to play what I read but I want to play what I hear as well. Also, most of what she plays by "reading" is classical and baroque, which she says she likes as well, but what she wants to play by "ear" is mostly pop....what her 9 year old friends listen to...she says she loves classical, but doesn't want her friends to think she is boring.