2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (brennbaer, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 8 invisible), 1,797 guests, and 315 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
Dunce Offline OP
OP Offline
D
I have been shopping for a baby grand piano for several months now, decided that the biggest i could reasonably fit was about 5'5 to 5'7".
Tried many brands at almost every major dealer in town and loved the Kawai GE-30 action, though was not crazy about its tone (this was a brand new out of the box piano). I played a slightly older GE-30 at another non-authorized dealer and actually was very happy with the tone, but dealer refused to budge on the price for a 5 year old serial number "brand new" piano....but the experience gave me hope that the tone could be worked with....After a lot of research, Ive decided that the RX-1 is a superior piano to the GE-30, but the local Kawai dealer will not stock it because of price/inability to sell...(SMP ~25,900 + tax). After some discussion, they were willing order to order one for me for about ~20K+tax and second floor delivery which put me at a final price of $21.9K. However they want me to pay for it up front for them to order it.OF note, Kawai list prices are increasing >3K inabout 1 week.

My question is 1) is this is a good price, it seems to me to be and 2)does anyone have enough experience with an RX-1 to reassure me that I can buy this unseen. Again I love teh Kawai action, and have been happy with th GE-30 tone, and wouldnt mind having a tech tinker with it a little to optimize it. Thanks

M
M