2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
77 members (Bostonmoores, accordeur, brdwyguy, brennbaer, august112, Brendan, 36251, 15 invisible), 1,299 guests, and 520 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
OP Offline
B
Need some advice from students and teachers out there alike. I’m very new to the piano and have had about 8 lessons from a teacher. He has a few students, but no formal teaching experience. Which is fine just as long as I’m learning? The only thing I am turned off about is during a lesson if I make a mistake he stops me and tells me what key I did wrong. After this happens a few times it kind of kills my flow and it’s hard for me to get back on after a few misses. Is this normal for teachers or do they usually tell you after the song you are practicing on? I guess another question I have is how do you know if a teacher is the right one for you? I have found that most piano teachers in my area charge about the same rate, but this one is more flexible on times we can meet. I do have to admit I do practice but having a full time job and another part time job for fun doesn’t allow me to practice as much as I would like. Thanks in advance

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment