2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
24 members (cmoody31, dh371, Fried Chicken, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, admodios, clothearednincompo, crab89, 7 invisible), 1,242 guests, and 309 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1643058 03/17/11 05:28 PM
M
OP Offline
M
As an adult beginner, I usually practice with my headphones on so my wife doesn't divorce me. I wonder sometimes about my skill level, and I hesitate to play even the simplest pieces for others for fear that they'll think I'm wasting my time with this ridiculous hobby.
But today, when substitute-teaching in the music department, I was in charge of the beginning piano and guitar class.
One of the honors students (whom I've had in many other classes) was having a terrible time with her Cmaj scale and the I, IV, and V chords of that scale.
I was able to sit with her for a while and explain how those chords are formed, why we play them with the fingering that we do, and how each scale of the piano has the same chords, built in the same way.
I was also able to show her that the C major scale, descending, just sounds like random notes. But played with a different timing, it's "Joy to the World."
She was very appreciative, and told me that she'd learned a lot. It was the first time, ever, that I felt I really KNEW somthing about the piano and that others looked up to me for having that knowledge.
It was a great feeling.

I'm getting there--note by note.
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Congratulations, Michael!

We can all learn from each other and teach each other, no matter how simple or elementary.