2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
51 members (BMKE, 36251, Brus, butchkoch, Bill McKaig,RPT, C. L., Anglagard44, CharlesXX, 11 invisible), 659 guests, and 287 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
Here's my situation.

I am an adult beginner since Sept 2009. I started with no musical background, except for the fact that I have been enjoying classical music all my life and developing over the years a profond desire to learn how to play piano.

I picked up 'Piano for Dummies' and watch numerous videos from Lypur ( great stuff ). I have to mention I do not have access to a teacher, I'd love it, but not possible for the moment.

Anyway, up to Dec.2010, I felt I was making great progress and learned to play some pieces like Fur Elise (sorry...), Bach's Prelude in C, Traumerei, Mendelssohn's SWW Op.30 No.6, Albinoni's Adagio and a few others.

Here is some of my problems since last December :

1- I am not consistent.
One minute, I play like an ass, and then can play pretty
good, at least well enough to impress myself.

2- I have hard times accepting that I am not good ( kind of a
perfectionnist ... )

3- I don't have enough feedback on my playing.

4- Right now, I am learning so many different pieces at the
same time, it's ridiculous. I can't concentrate on only
one at a time.

Because of all that, I feel I am not making progress anymore.