Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
What's Hot!!
Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving from our family to our Forums Family!

Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Fall 2017
Who's Online Now
87 registered members (Anonymous4, Alex Hutor, AZNpiano, 24 invisible), 1,818 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#1626769 - 02/23/11 02:39 PM Phantom power for CP5 mic input?  
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
CMac Offline
Full Member
CMac  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
My first post smile

Does anyone know if the Yamaha CP5 mic input has phantom power?
I am looking to plug a Studio Projects C1 mic in there.

(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#1626799 - 02/23/11 03:19 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,932
Dave Ferris Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Dave Ferris  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,932
Glendale, Ca.
Hi and welcome.

No, only non-phantom powered mics.

I use a Sennheiser E945 with great results. Not too shabby for recording either.


https://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

2005 NY Steinway D
Yamaha CP4, CP5
#1626803 - 02/23/11 03:25 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: Dave Ferris]  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 171
rickshapiro Offline
Full Member
rickshapiro  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 171
Give the link a try. This is inexpensive and would allow you to use your mic.


http://www.zzounds.com/item--ART127


Music Hack

Nord NP88,Yamaha Motif ES7, Ensoniq KS32, Brodmann 187 Grand, JV2080, GR20, JV90, MKS-20, Sonar S1, Reaper, ACID, Record/Reason, Samplitude, VOX Tonelab, Tech21 Power Engine, NI, Kore, True Piano, Sampletank, Komplete, Bluesky Studio Monitors Yamaha 01X, Line 6 HD500, tons of guitars.
#1626806 - 02/23/11 03:28 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]  
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
CMac Offline
Full Member
CMac  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
Thanks Dave - Probably too much to ask I guess.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#1626807 - 02/23/11 03:31 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]  
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
CMac Offline
Full Member
CMac  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
Thanks for the option Rick - although the C1 mic is XLR and I think the preamp is 1/4".

#1626809 - 02/23/11 03:37 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,932
Dave Ferris Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Dave Ferris  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,932
Glendale, Ca.
.


https://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

2005 NY Steinway D
Yamaha CP4, CP5
#1626823 - 02/23/11 04:00 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 171
rickshapiro Offline
Full Member
rickshapiro  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 171
Originally Posted by CMac
Thanks for the option Rick - although the C1 mic is XLR and I think the preamp is 1/4".


I have this unit at home and I believe it has both an XLR input and output.

http://www.artproaudio.com/products.asp?type=79&cat=1&id=1

Last edited by rickshapiro; 02/23/11 04:04 PM.

Music Hack

Nord NP88,Yamaha Motif ES7, Ensoniq KS32, Brodmann 187 Grand, JV2080, GR20, JV90, MKS-20, Sonar S1, Reaper, ACID, Record/Reason, Samplitude, VOX Tonelab, Tech21 Power Engine, NI, Kore, True Piano, Sampletank, Komplete, Bluesky Studio Monitors Yamaha 01X, Line 6 HD500, tons of guitars.
#1627007 - 02/23/11 08:57 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]  
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,502
R0B Offline
1000 Post Club Member
R0B  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,502
Australia
Here is an extract from the user manual:

"Inputs
The TUBE MP provides both an XLR and 1/4Óinput jack. Use the
balanced XLR input for use with a microphone. Audio input as
well as phantom power (if needed switchable on and off) is supplied
through this jack. Use the unbalanced l/4Ó input jack for
instrument applications.
XLR pin configuration: pin 1 = gnd pin 2 = Positive (hot), pin 3
= negative.
Do not Use both inputs at the same time.
Outputs
The XLR output of theTUBE MP is active balanced You may Òse it
in an unbalanced configuration without harm to the output circuitry.
Use the unbalanced 1/4Ó jack for sending your signal to
amps, processors or other unbalanced configurations. Also, both
outputs may be used at the same time"


Rob
#1627014 - 02/23/11 09:08 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: R0B]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,932
Dave Ferris Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Dave Ferris  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,932
Glendale, Ca.
.


https://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

2005 NY Steinway D
Yamaha CP4, CP5
#1627064 - 02/23/11 10:36 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: R0B]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,932
Dave Ferris Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Dave Ferris  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,932
Glendale, Ca.
.


https://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

2005 NY Steinway D
Yamaha CP4, CP5
#1627103 - 02/23/11 11:46 PM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]  
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,502
R0B Offline
1000 Post Club Member
R0B  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,502
Australia
Hi Dave,

My post was in response to CMac's post, which in turn, was in response to rickshapiro's recommendation of this pre-amp:
http://www.zzounds.com/item--ART127

The extract I posted, was from the User manual for this model.
Sorry for any confusion smile


Rob
#1627138 - 02/24/11 01:08 AM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: R0B]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,932
Dave Ferris Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Dave Ferris  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,932
Glendale, Ca.
.


https://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

2005 NY Steinway D
Yamaha CP4, CP5
#1627226 - 02/24/11 08:16 AM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: CMac]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,119
Dave Horne Online content
6000 Post Club Member
Dave Horne  Online Content
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,119
Vught, The Netherlands
Even though there's no mention of phantom power in the CP5 owner's manual, couldn't we simply use a VOM to measure whether it exists or not?




website | mp3 files | Yamaha AvantGrand N3 | Roland RD 2000 | Sennheiser HD 598 headphones
#1627243 - 02/24/11 08:45 AM Re: Phantom power for CP5 mic input? [Re: Dave Horne]  
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 483
Rimmer Offline
Full Member
Rimmer  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 483
United Kingdom
Originally Posted by Dave Horne
Even though there's no mention of phantom power in the CP5 owner's manual, couldn't we simply use a VOM to measure whether it exists or not?


Phantom power should always be switchable so you can plug and unplug mics like the C1 without breaking them. If it's not in the manual and there is no switch, then I think it's very unlikely that it has PP.

That said, you can software switch phantom power but I still think it would be very dumb to put PP on a stage piano..!

Regards. Rimmer


Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World)
our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, Digital Piano Dolly, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping* on Jansen Artist Piano Benches, Cocoweb Piano Lamps, Hidrau Hydraulic Piano Benches
(*free shipping within contiguous U.S. only)
(ad)
Pearl River & Ritmuller
Ritmuller Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq 6 Out now
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


New Topics - Multiple Forums
VST discount this Thanksgiving 2017
by TonyDIGITAL. 11/23/17 02:58 PM
Grand Piano Placement in Room
by Anonymous4. 11/23/17 12:39 PM
Grand Piano Placement in Room
by Anonymous4. 11/23/17 09:59 AM
How To Play Havana On Piano
by elijahMG. 11/23/17 08:20 AM
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics182,906
Posts2,673,819
Members89,176
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Click Here to
Explore The Rest of Piano World!!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0