2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (crab89, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, 10 invisible), 1,231 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
dpuser Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hello all,

I'm new to digital pianos, actually totally new to any pianos for that matter. I've been reading for the past week trying to narrow down on what to buy and I think I am close to making a decision and would like to run past you guys/gals just to be sure.

Instead of hijacking someone else's "help me chose" thread I thought I should start a new one. So here it goes...

Background is that my 6yo daughter has recently started piano lessons, right now she's practicing on a basic keyboard from way back that I found in my folks' garage which is obviously no good, so we need to get her something pretty soon.

Our intention is to help her to develop a musical hobby, not so much on taking exams, however she will have our support if she eventually wants to get serious about it. I have already went through the motion of digital vs acoustic and have decided digital is the way to go at this stage.

By the way, everything costs more in Australia comparing to the States. Initially I was considering the Casio PX-730, which is around AU$900, probably the cheapest cabinet DP. But when I saw it in store it looks really basic and I don't want my daughter to think that she's playing on yet another keyboard, so I thought I should up the budget to get something better.