2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, accordeur, 12 invisible), 1,807 guests, and 292 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
PeteF Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Hi, I was wondering if teachers in Sydney, Australia could give me a bit of a guide as to the range of rates I can expect to pay for a teacher? I'm an adult beginner in Asquith.

The other question, this time to all here, is what duration of lesson do you feel gives the most benefits? When I've been tutored in other areas I wouldn't consider less than an hour, but with the piano in all honestly I am getting pretty tired after a solid, say, 50 minute session. At the moment it's fine, when I see myself starting to make mistakes I simply stop and do something else for a while. But when I'm with a teacher I don't want to be wasting this time. I figured there must be a compromise between very short lessons, where time is spent on pleasantries and just warming up, versus longer lessons when fatigue starts to become a factor.

Pete

No that wasn't a bum note! It was my ... "artistic interpretation" emerging.
P
P
Hi Pete
The current minimum rate (not inc GST) set by the NSW Music Teachers Association is $66/hr. This may vary according the location and teacher qualifications. Some charge more, some charge less.

good luck
BB

C
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
C
I'm not exactly in Sydney, but near enough. You'll find a bit of variation, but I believe the MTA of NSW recommends a minimum fee of $65-70 p.h.

edit: cross-posted with BBBB smile