2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
25 members (drumour, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, Kawai James, 8 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 286 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
#1540192 10/21/10 12:16 PM
A
OP Offline
A
So I'm no prodigy or anything and I'm not trying to show off. I started piano from scratch about 1 yr and 3 months ago. Since then, I've been practicing about 4-5 hrs a day seven days a week. Sometimes I play all day on weekends. I'm working on Chopin nocturnes, Mozart sonatas, and Debussy right now. My teacher says I'm doing darn well and that sometimes he forgets I've only been doing piano for a year.

Yesterday during my lesson, he played for me Rachmaninoff's concerto no. 2, second movement....and I was blown away with how BEAUTIFUL it was!! And now I am completely psyched when he says that he thinks I can tackle it! I looked at the score and it didn't seem too bad.

Should I feel overwhelmed? Because I'm not...I'm actually excited! But I feel embarrassed when people ask what I'm working on because I think that people have certain expectations of where I should be and I'm not.

I just feel like I'm not normal... well, maybe just looking for some reassurance that I'm ok!

YOu sound Ok to me- let's see how things develop from here. I would love to be able to play more than a hour a day- how do you manage it? What hours do you practice? Is there anyone else in your household who is driven crazy by your constant practice at the piano?