2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
72 members (AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, 36251, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, Burkhard, 17 invisible), 2,108 guests, and 319 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
P
Hello,

I am a high school pianist and I like to play lots of Rachmaninoff, Chopin, and Beethoven. One of the technical problems I run into is octaves. Over the years, I have run into problems with playing lots of octaves in repetitive sequence because my reach is so small (my hand reach is an octave and nothing more). I have been switching and switching teachers but have not yet found a technique right for me (meaning a technique that doesn't give me wrist pain or lock my hand up too tight). Do you have any advice on what technique to use or how to play the octaves in a relaxed manner?

Any help is much appreciated. Thank you so much.

Regards,

--Milana

D
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
D
The conservative cautious answer is that constant repetitive octaves are not good for pianists with small hands and you should choose other music.

(I'm a piano teacher.)
M
M
Do you reach an octave with 1-4 on black key octaves, as well as 1-5?

P
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
P
yes but just barely... I'm barely 5' and the way my hand is shaped I have a thin length of a palm and medium sized fingers.

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
perhaps your thumb will stretch.