2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, clothearednincompo, bcalvanese, booms, 10 invisible), 1,967 guests, and 255 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
R
OP Offline
R
Hi everyone. I will be 29 years old in a month and I have been teaching piano for about 9 years. I've been playing for 20. I used to teach full-time but now I teach part-time. I've lost control of my students and I need help.

I have 2 students tonight, 1 hour long each. One girl is about 13 and the other is 15 or 16. I brought them into a bad habit... right now they are working on songs that are harder than there level. When my studnets complain to me that what I give them is boring, I let them slide.

Can anyone here give me some advice on how to get my students under control? I want to start this tonight because every week I dread these two lessons. My students need to basically do what I tell them to do in the lesson instead of complaining about it...I just need help!!

Thanks to anyone who has input! smile

- John

E
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
E
Well, it sounds like you know what to do. Now go do it smile

Tell them that they are getting better and better, but you want to really make sure they know the basics so you are going to add 1-2 technique pieces for them to do. If their music is beyond their abilities, tell them they can to a few measures a week, or come back to it later.