2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
70 members (chopinetto, anotherscott, 1957, bobrunyan, Burkey, 36251, Catlady, ChrisGoesPiano, A. Lucato, 13 invisible), 509 guests, and 451 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Asking advice from piano teachers
#1500789 08/22/10 02:40 AM
tnew Offline OP
OP Offline
I'm an adult student, who only started learning back in February/March using first Alfred's books, then hired a teacher. Now I think the teacher is so very nice, but I keep wondering if something is missing.

For lessons, she flips through my music books to find something she thinks would be good to play (but seems rather random and not focusing on any particular technique at the time). The following lesson I play it and she gives me tips on how to improve it. That's about it. I asked about scales and such once, and she said I could do a few if I wanted. I asked which ones, and she quickly flipped through the book before handing it back and said all of them would be good. I felt a bit overwhelmed because it was everything and yet without a plan on how to get there.

In addition, there are no particular books to work with, just any book I bring in and then just based on whatever I tried playing since the last lesson. Is it important to note that I don't have any knowledge of music before starting this spring?