2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
33 members (Animisha, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, fullerphoto, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, 3 invisible), 1,240 guests, and 263 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I am, and have always been, an exceptionally nervous, tense person. However, until I started learning how to play the piano, I was not aware of the severity of my natural state of tension in everyday life. Since I began learning to play the piano, I've become more aware of my physical self, and I've found that I exhibit considerable tension even when I am sitting still, presumably in a "relaxed" state. Now, it seems to be universally agreed upon that abolishing unnecessary tension at the piano is of paramount importance for both 1) developing correct technique, and 2) avoiding injury. However, given my high level of natural tension, what are the chances that I will be able to free myself of unwanted tension at the piano? Not good, I believe. Thus, my question is: should I work at becoming a more relaxed, less tense person in general, and hope that a newfound state of relaxation carries over to the piano? If so, how should I go about doing this? If there are any teachers reading this post, have you ever encountered a student with unusually high levels of tension? I have one other thought: perhaps people like me simply have no business trying to learn to play the piano in the first place. I'm willing to accept that to be the case.

S
S
"perhaps people like me simply have no business trying to learn to play the piano in the first place"