2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
46 members (anotherscott, Colin Miles, Beowulf, andredatele, ando, Anglagard44, Burkey, 14 invisible), 487 guests, and 497 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Developing a sense of timing.
#1474773 07/15/10 09:53 AM
P
OP Offline
P
I have been learning piano for about 4 months now. It has been difficult to develop good/correct timing. Well, is there something like minimum time required for developing a good sense of timing?

Please advise on developing this sense.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: Developing a sense of timing.
pb_core i7 #1474779 07/15/10 10:00 AM
S
S
pb:

I don't think there is a minimum required time, as one can only learn at his/her own rate. Of course, amount of time spent practicing is a factor as well.

Are you using a metronome? This is very helpful in learning correct timing, and there are several models that are very inexpensive and perfectly adequate.

pb_core i7 #1474780 07/15/10 10:00 AM

Gold Supporter until March 1 2014
7000 Post Club Member

Gold Supporter until March 1 2014
7000 Post Club Member
I have no idea how long it takes, but you could try using a metronome to help you.

[Linked Image]
18 ABF Recitals, Order of the Red Dot
European Piano Parties - Brussels, Lisbon, Lucern, Milan, Malaga, St. Goar
Themed recitals: Grieg and Great American Songbook