2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (David B, AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, dh371, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, 10 invisible), 1,199 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by SpencerF

Copyright is actually much more strict than this and your statement is incorrect. I used to work for a major copy shop and it was my job to teach the rest of the store about it.

Wow, Spencer, you sound so certain! I am not a lawyer, but I studied this issue pretty hard when I worked as a professional librarian. And, yes, it is fair to say the laws vary by country, so, I'm sorry Nikolas and ChopinAddict for being provincial. smile Someone else might know how the "Common Law" answer applies elsewhere. In the U.S. Code, there is a clause called "fair use." It allows for this kind of personal photocopying.

wr should be fine copying the Dover for himself, but not the mass production of scores from communist countries. grin

I remember the days when the copy shops went overboard with their policies because they were getting hammered in court as the intellectual property issue started to heat up. I'm currently waiting to see what will happen with GoogleBooks, which has pretty much scanned every doo-dah book in creation and made it available for free on the Internet. That, to me, does not seem like fair use. But since Google is part owner of the universe, now, I doubt anything will happen to them. smirk