2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, admodios, 9 invisible), 1,137 guests, and 323 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
A
alexb Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hi,

I'm an adult beginner that's tried two teachers so far. 2 trial lessons with each one, and I feel like giving up!! Maybe I'm the problem - too picky, thinking too much, etc. But let me describe it, because I don't know that I am.

A bit about me. I'm a very organized and logical person. I learn very quickly in general, and am patient, thorough, etc. But I do need good guidance and communication from a teacher. Clear communication.

Anyway, I've met with two teachers for trial lessons thus far. The first teacher started me using the Alfred Book 1 for Adults mixed in with some Russian method book she was familiar with. She'd have me play some from Alfred, then some from the other book, spoke about chords, etc. Went into some basic theory, etc. Just sort of random to me. I never got a real good direction of what the plan was or should be - a clear road map for learning (i.e. we are learning a bit of this and a bit of that for x & y reasons, etc.). She was VERY good about technique, hand relaxation, etc. That part was great. But the rest seemed sort of all over the place. So when I had to practice, I wasn't sure what to really focus on. Communicating this to her proved difficult. She'd just smile and say to not overthink and just play. So I decided to place that on hold and try another teacher.