2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
80 members (antune, anotherscott, A. Lucato, adamcz, Alex Hutor, Alfred La Fleur, accordeur, ando, 15 invisible), 1,031 guests, and 489 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1397283 03/16/10 08:33 PM
D
Dan D Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hi everyone. I am new to PW and though I have lurked about for a little while this is my first post.

Been looking around Chicago area for pianos a lot lately and I think I have been to nearly every dealer in metro area. Have narrowed things down considerably: I have found 2 dealers I like, Kurt Saphir and Pickle Piano. I have found two makers of new vertical pianos I really like in my price range as well; Charles Walter and Hoffman. I was intrigued by a Perzina as well as a new Knabe, but these are probably second cut.

My concern is this: despite having found some fine vertical pianos I like I fear that I will regret not buying a grand piano and the wonderful touch and action afforded by it. Despite the fact that a decent grand will cost more than these pianos I have found and the fact that space is a concern in our smaller house I still worry that I will wish I had a grand. Any advice or comments are greatly appreciated.

DD

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
You are screwed!

If you get an upright, every time you sit down to it, you'll be thinking "I should have bought a grand".