2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (brdwyguy, Carey, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, CharlesXX, Aleks_MG, accordeur, 11 invisible), 1,905 guests, and 301 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
WCL Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi.
I am new to Piano World and an adult beginner having decided to take up learning the piano in my retirement (60+). I am taking lessons and working my way through Michael Aaron's books (not the Adult version). I am currently 2/3s the way through "Grade Two" after a little over a year and although I am enjoying it immensely I find myself getting frustrated with what appears to be my inability to recognize intervals/notes quickly enough and also playing left-hand/right-hand separately. Searching the internet today for some tools to help me with this problem is what brought me to the Piano World Forum. I read with great interest some of the comments on the "independence" of the hands and if nothing else it has told me, practice, practice, practice.

Also, one of the things I've striven to do is to have the pieces that my teacher has assigned me "down pat" by the next lesson. At first this wasn't a problem but now I'm beginning to think this is unrealistic. Now I try for "progress" each week and I may not have the particular piece "nailed" for several weeks. Any thoughts on this?

It is refreshing to read the various comments/questions on the forum and realize that I am not alone out there. Thank you.

L
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
L