2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (antune, Colin Miles, anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, danno858, benkeys, brennbaer, DaCapoDiTuttiCapi, APianistHasNoName, 9 invisible), 1,866 guests, and 334 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
OP Offline
Hi everybody,

I am new to this forum. I have really enjoyed reading the posts here. I currently own a Yamaha C2 (5'8"), but wish to upgrade soon to a larger piano.

I am only beginning my shopping and would like to know if there is a rule of thumb to determine what is the maximum length a piano should have in order not to sound too loud in a particular room. Our living room is 23 feet long by 16 feet wide and the ceiling height is 8 feet.

I am considering pianos with a lenght of around 7 feet. My current piano sounds OK, but I am worried that a longer one would be too loud.

Any advice on the matter would be most appreciated.

BTW : If it helped any suggestions, my budget is around $35K canadian... might be able to stretch up to $45K canadian, depending on my wife smile

No affiliation - Humble piano lover...
J
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
J
This is a tough one. What's going to work for you?

My experience... Our livingroom is 17x33, low ceilings. I have a Steinway A3 6'4" and it's pretty awfully loud. Sometimes I wish I'd bought a smaller piano. If you're a listener sitting next to the open soundboard, it's a real BLASTER. OH, MY POOR HUSBAND laugh

A smaller piano would have filled our space soundwise just fine, but a smaller piano means you'll compromise on tonal quality. It's a trade off.