2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (HZPiano, admodios, johnesp, clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., Joseph Fleetwood, 7 invisible), 1,274 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
W
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
W

Seeing as we're talking about improvising, I thought I'd ask how you started improvising? And what methods did you find greatest success?

I learned only classical as a kid, so I never improvised until I was in my early 20's. Then I found jazz and the light turned on. But being self-taught I went through many frustrations and mistakes.

Looking back, I think the key to improvising well comes down to 2 things:

LISTENING- We need to listen and build up our musical knowledge before we are even able to say anything.

I've probably listened to over 1000 jazz records. There's a distinct sound for jazz, as there is to classical, rock, bossa nova, country.

I started playing by ear, hearing a jazz song and figuring it out on the piano.

This one skill alone will help immensely in improvising. Just as a baby learns a language by imitating what mom and dad speak, so we learn a musical "language" the same way.

THEORY- learning the structure of music and how it works.

Jazz and pop/rock music follow a very structured approach. The chord progression 2-5-1 is fundamental in jazz, and many pop/rock songs are 1-6-4-5 or variations of that.

Know your scales and chords. We can hear the difference between a major and minor scale. Same with a major, minor, dominant chord. They all serve a specific purpose in music.