2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
32 members (admodios, busa, Cominut, drumour, Foxtrot3, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, 6 invisible), 1,164 guests, and 273 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1330188 12/20/09 10:17 PM
OP Offline
Are 30 minute lessons sufficient? I've never had piano lessons, but am self taught, playing as long as I can remember, yet not great by any means...

I guess I could start off with 30 minute lessons, then bump them up to an hour if I'm not satisfied. But at the same time... I feel the idea of the additional cost would make me content with the 30 minute lessons.

Any advice would be great.

Elizabeth
@->-->--

Kimball 4520, Yamaha CP70-B, Yamaha PSR-150
Start with 30 and see how it goes. If there is a rushed feeling then you need more time. Does this teacher do 45 minutes? That might be perfect.

M. Katchur
OP Offline
Thank you for responding. I posted to another board and people seem to think 30 mins is best as well. Not sure if he does 45 mins, but I will ask should I feel the 30 mins isn't sufficient.

Elizabeth
@->-->--

M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
I find for most of my adult students that 30 minutes is never enough, even for beginner adults. 45 minutes is good if the teacher offers it, otherwise an hour certainly won't go to waste.

private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
L
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
L