2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, brennbaer, accordeur, antune, anotherscott, benkeys, 10 invisible), 1,723 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
H
OP Offline
H
I am a classical pianist and like to practise on an electronic keyboard when the grand piano would disturb people. I got this idea from Mark Swarzentruber who says it works for him and I reckon what's good enough for him should be good enough for anyone.

I have a high end Kawai with variable touch but even the heaviest setting is much lighter than a real piano and I have the feeling that practising on it is bad for my playing.

Can anyone recommend which electronic keyboard has the best touch and weight for piano practise? I am not interested in any of the other features.

Thanks

Hi!

You didn't mention what model your Kawai is. How long have you had it? Did you not try out other brands/models? Just curious.

I find your comment interesting that practising on a DP would be bad for you, especially since it would not be your exclusive practice instrument. Acoustic pianos are widely variable in their touch/action so there seems to be a certain amount of flexibility and adjustment that a musician has to have in order to play them well. I see adjustability as a very good quality to have when working on a skill like playing the piano or any other motor skill. Unless, of course, you're always going to bring your personal acoustic where ever you go! wink I just don't see how it would be bad if you had a excellent quality, weighted keyboard for some practice sessions.