Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!


SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Virtual Sheet Music
Download Sheet Music Instantly
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Sheet Music...
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Modern Piano Moving
Modern Piano Moving
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
Who's Online Now
92 registered members (Alexank, anotherscott, 17curleyj, Anita Potter, 25 invisible), 1,790 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#1320479 - 12/07/09 05:10 PM Is it possible?  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 188
Vid_w Offline
Full Member
Vid_w  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 188
Slovenia
So, I was thinking...
Is it possible, to let's say connect a DP to a computer vie MIDI or USB-MIDI, run it through pianoteq and connect the output from the computer to the DPs speakers via Audio In?

See, the thing is, I'm looking at a used CLP 230, and it only has 1 layer sampling, but I do have pianoteq and I think that might solve the problem.
So, what equipment would I need besides the obvious, the CLP, MIDI interface, pianoteq and a computer...?
What kind of cable would I need to connect the computers output to the DPs input, if I wanted stereo sound?

Thanks!

(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#1320492 - 12/07/09 05:25 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]  
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 90
Masume Offline
Full Member
Masume  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 90
Germany
I'm am doing just that, all you need to do is exactly what you just described ^^
If your DP is too old to support Midi per USB I'm not sure what your options are, I have it connected using an old soundcards Gameport, an adapter and a DIN cables, but I think there are USB/midi adapters of some kind.
To connect stereosound you don't need anything special. I assume your Piano has two RCA connectors on its back like mine and your PC's soundcard has standart 3,5mm TRS connector, so all you need is the fitting stereo TRS conncetor plug to stereo RCA connector plug cable...
That sound a bit complicated, maybe I'm using the wrong vocabulary, in German that wouldn't sound half as technical ^^

#1320495 - 12/07/09 05:27 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]  
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 142
feeble Offline
Full Member
feeble  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 142
South Dakota
Could you use external speakers plugged into your computer? A good set would probably give better sound than the built in speakers. I'm doing something similar:

CDP-100 > midi to usb cable > netbook (with synthfont, a large grand piano soundfont, & ASIO4ALL) > external monitors

I do think the sound is better than the Casio built in speakers and piano sound.

I don't have the cash for Pianoteq and my netbook doesn't really have the horsepower to do it justice, but those are two future upgrades I am considering.


Last edited by feeble; 12/07/09 05:29 PM.

Be the change you want to see in the world - Gandhi

Studiologic SL-990xp | Ivory II Grands | Pianoteq | Alicia's Keys
#1320549 - 12/07/09 06:54 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,841
ChrisA Offline
3000 Post Club Member
ChrisA  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,841
Redondo Beach, California
Originally Posted by Vid_w
So, I was thinking...
Is it possible, to let's say connect a DP to a computer vie MIDI or USB-MIDI, run it through pianoteq and connect the output from the computer to the DPs speakers via Audio In?

See, the thing is, I'm looking at a used CLP 230, and it only has 1 layer sampling, but I do have pianoteq and I think that might solve the problem.
So, what equipment would I need besides the obvious, the CLP, MIDI interface, pianoteq and a computer...?
What kind of cable would I need to connect the computers output to the DPs input, if I wanted stereo sound?

Thanks!


If your computer has built-in audio and you are happy with it's quality then a cable with the "right" ends on it is all you need. This would be a kind of "splitter cable" that looks like a "Y". They are easy to find. If you are using an external audio interface then, a pair of cables would be needed. Either way, not a big deal.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#1320680 - 12/07/09 10:45 PM Re: Is it possible? [Re: Vid_w]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,097
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,097
North Carolina
Originally Posted by Vid_w
I'm looking at a used CLP 230, and it only has 1 layer sampling, but I do have pianoteq and I think that might solve the problem.
If I understand you correctly, the problem is 1-layer sampling. You want better dynamic response, right?

If so, external speakers won't solve that problem.

But Pianoteq might be a good solution for you. You'll need the MIDI connection for that.


Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World) our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping on Jansen Artist Piano Benches
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


(ad)
Pianoteq
Grotrian Concert
Royal
for Pianoteq out now
What's Hot!!
Why Do You Play The Piano?
-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
-------------------
Piano Classified Ads
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Piano Placement
by RickH. 05/28/17 09:28 PM
Argerich and Babayan in Cleveland
by MikeN. 05/28/17 05:12 PM
Kawai key not quite right
by Creeksider. 05/28/17 03:53 PM
Problem with keys on brand new piano (Kawai CS11)
by PianomanDK. 05/28/17 02:47 PM
Problem with keys on brand new piano (Kawai CS11)
by PianomanDK. 05/28/17 02:08 PM
(ad)
Sheet Music Plus
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Report Problems With New Forums
Report Problems with New Forums Here!
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics179,940
Posts2,630,680
Members87,910
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0