2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (crab89, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, BWV846, 10 invisible), 1,234 guests, and 281 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
A
ayjayar Offline OP
OP Offline
A
I have read all the pertinent discussions here and the very good series of articles by Matthijs on his PianoClues blog.

Yet, I remained utterly confused.

Unfortunately, I am not very technical and I have had this wonderful Roland MP-300 digital piano for years and have never had the know-how to record from it. I play mostly sacred and classical music and my folks would really like to be able to listen to some of the music I play, not just only at the church services we attend when we go visit them, a few times a year.

I went to a music store, they sold me a JV1010 synthesizer. Yea, all I needed is more confusion. I bought cables, software, etc. whatever anyone suggested. The sound card M-Audio Revolution PCI Rev.4 is so old by now it’s not even supported anymore and it doesn’t work with my XP system. I resolved the conflict with the internal on-board sound by disabling the latter in the BIOS. Still, no dice. There are no drivers specifically for Windows XP for it.

All I want to do is record from the MP-300 and make some CDs to give to my friends and kin.

I can’t tell what matches what, if any of the USB-MIDI interfaces are universal or work with only certain DPs, if using a USB-MIDI external interface is preferable to, say, an internal soundcard, etc.

Can somebody take pity of me and tell me what I need to buy?

Please?

Andrew

500 Post Club Member