2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
37 members (Charles Cohen, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,137 guests, and 316 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1272679 09/22/09 12:14 PM
B
OP Offline
B
I am an intermediate adult student who hopes to mine your knowledge and expertise!
I am seriously trying to improve my level of musicality, and in doing so, I want to ask you about developing dynamic control. I am becoming frustrated at how I'm struggling with this! I hear in my head how I want my phrases to sound, and as I'm playing I try to graduate my sound and indeed think I am. When I listen to a recording of myself, though, I am so disappointed that I just can't seem to: 1.) Have as many different levels of sound 2.) Have them grow or fade away smoothly....it won't be even. I don't want my playing to sound like I'm speaking in a monotone! Or, alternately whispering or screaming. Help Help Help. I used to have a lot of harshness in my playing (and still catch myself making harsh sounds, but I am making good progress in that area.
How long do you find it takes someone to develop this control or ability? How do you develop it in your students?
Thank you for your thoughts.

Cheryl

4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
What kind of piano are you playing?

Blues and Boogie-Woogie piano teacher.
B
OP Offline
B
Alas, I wish I could blame it on my piano, but the fault is all mine. I am playing a Yamaha G series grand (i forget exactly what year, but it's 1980s). It is in very good condition and in tune.