Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
What's Hot!!
Mr. PianoWorld - the full interview
-------------------
European Tour for Piano Lovers
JOIN US FOR THE TOUR!
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2018
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


Who's Online Now
135 registered members (Bruce In Philly, Beowulf, BbAltered, AlphaBravoCharlie, Beemer, Angelos58, anotherscott, accordeur, 34 invisible), 1,699 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. #1259121
08/30/09 04:27 PM
08/30/09 04:27 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
O
octavian Offline OP
Full Member
octavian  Offline OP
Full Member
O

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
I am bringing my keyboard to Europe. I thought all I needed was a plug adapter but the man at the store told me it won't work if the voltage is off. I think my model ,p155, is 125 volts. It is supposed to be 220v in Europe or something like that. I am still unclear on all of this. Does anyone understand? What will I need to make my keyboard work in Europe, particularly Germany? Thanks. Please help asap I am leaving soon and want to buy what I need here.

(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: octavian] #1259167
08/30/09 05:25 PM
08/30/09 05:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,946
Banned
T
theJourney Offline
3000 Post Club Member
theJourney  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
T

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,946
Banned
Look at the adaptor itself. If it says that the input is 110-240v AC and the output is something DC, then all you will need will be a plug adaptor to be able to plug it in. If the input is 110V AC, then you will need to get an entire new Yamaha electrical adaptor for Germany. If there is no box on the cable of the P155, but only a plug direct to the electricity, then you will need to see if the P155 itself can take 110v-240v input. If not, then you will need to buay a step down transformer in Germany to use your keyboard.

You may find that the costs of getting an IATA tansport case and transporting your keyboard by airline and buying adaptors will be quite high and that it would be better to rent or buy a keyboard there depending on the lenght of your stay.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: theJourney] #1259202
08/30/09 06:01 PM
08/30/09 06:01 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
O
octavian Offline OP
Full Member
octavian  Offline OP
Full Member
O

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Thank you for your reply. I am not sure I understand everything completely. The plug that goes from my keyboard to my wall here in the usa has no box on it. Also there is a white sticker on it that reads 125v. I don't know what else I need to check for. Can anyone else make this as clear as possible and in layman terms.

It will already be 380 dollars to ship via ups from NYC to Germany. So if this will not be as simple as buying a 35 dollar voltage adapter, then I will need to return the keyboard tomorrow which is why I am hoping to get some more help. Thanks guys.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: octavian] #1259206
08/30/09 06:04 PM
08/30/09 06:04 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
O
octavian Offline OP
Full Member
octavian  Offline OP
Full Member
O

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Correction. It does have a box. The cord comes from the piano into a box, and then from the box into the wall.

(ad) SWEETWATER
Sweetwater - Lowest Prices on Gear
Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: octavian] #1259209
08/30/09 06:11 PM
08/30/09 06:11 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Denton Texas
LesCharles73 Offline
500 Post Club Member
LesCharles73  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Denton Texas
European voltage is double that of the voltage here in the states. 240v will fry your p155 unless you buy a 240v-120v step down transformer. You then plug your p155 into that.

Hope this helps. If you're staying long term it really might be better to sell your keyboard here and buy another in Germany.


Les C Deal




Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: octavian] #1259212
08/30/09 06:12 PM
08/30/09 06:12 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,946
Banned
T
theJourney Offline
3000 Post Club Member
theJourney  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
T

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,946
Banned
Look at the sticker on the box and see if it says input 110-240v but not just 110-135 or something like that.
If so, you will need a $2 plug.
If not, you will need an adaptor that might cost $50.
In the worst case you would need a stepdown transformer that would cost you $150

Many yamaha instruments sold in the us are sold with adaptors that only work on US voltage while those sold in other markets accept a variety of voltages.

Bear in mind that your keyboard was probably sold to you with a US only warranty. If you have warranty issues in German you will have to return the unit to the USA to be serviced. The warranty may also be voided by using any non-Yamaha adaptors or by using the keyboard outside of the country. Review your documentation to find out.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: LesCharles73] #1259218
08/30/09 06:20 PM
08/30/09 06:20 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
O
octavian Offline OP
Full Member
octavian  Offline OP
Full Member
O

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
I will be there for 8 months. You mentioned a step down transformer. Can I get this at radioshack and then thats all I need for it to work? I must have a piano while I am there because well, I love to play and can't go without it. So I need to do something quick.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: octavian] #1259220
08/30/09 06:22 PM
08/30/09 06:22 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
O
octavian Offline OP
Full Member
octavian  Offline OP
Full Member
O

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
The box reads:
Input 100-240V 50/60 Hz -45W
Output 16V 2.4A

Does this help. Now can anyone say anything definitely. Thanks. I appreciate it.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: octavian] #1259222
08/30/09 06:31 PM
08/30/09 06:31 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,946
Banned
T
theJourney Offline
3000 Post Club Member
theJourney  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
T

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,946
Banned
You should be able to use a $2 plug in Germany or an traveller's kit you buy at the airport! Have a great trip!

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: theJourney] #1259231
08/30/09 06:40 PM
08/30/09 06:40 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 245
Scotland, United Kingdom, Sol,...
starbug Offline
Full Member
starbug  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 245
Scotland, United Kingdom, Sol,...
Originally Posted by theJourney
You should be able to use a $2 plug in Germany or an traveller's kit you buy at the airport! Have a great trip!


Are you sure? I had to pay well over that for a step down convertor.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: theJourney] #1259235
08/30/09 06:52 PM
08/30/09 06:52 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
O
octavian Offline OP
Full Member
octavian  Offline OP
Full Member
O

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Originally Posted by theJourney
You should be able to use a $2 plug in Germany or an traveller's kit you buy at the airport! Have a great trip!


Thanks alot! But are we certain based on the information on the box? Otherwise I will ship it for a lot of money and then be unable to use it.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: octavian] #1259255
08/30/09 07:18 PM
08/30/09 07:18 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
S
Steve Howard Offline
Full Member
Steve Howard  Offline
Full Member
S

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by octavian
The box reads:
Input 100-240V 50/60 Hz -45W
Output 16V 2.4A

This indicates that your unit will work on American power 120 volts at 60 Hz, and also on European 240 V at 50 Hz.

Lots of modern equipment can automatically handle both voltage, thanks to switch-mode power supplies.

But it's always wise to check the label ... which you did.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: Steve Howard] #1259299
08/30/09 08:52 PM
08/30/09 08:52 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 379
California
L
limavady Offline
Full Member
limavady  Offline
Full Member
L

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 379
California
Did you just buy it and have the option to return it at this point? Sounded like that when you said you could return it. I ask this because of another question which is won't it be another $380 to ship it back in 8 months? Wouldn't it be better to buy a cheaper keyboard while you're there and maybe sell that when you leave in 8 months? i checked amazon germany but am not sure of the euro/dollar exchange so don't know what kind of deal. Maybe you could find some place like costco in Germany and get one of those $500 casios! ----but it seems that germany shouldn't be a tough place to find pianos; were they perhaps even invented there?

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: limavady] #1259307
08/30/09 09:03 PM
08/30/09 09:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
O
octavian Offline OP
Full Member
octavian  Offline OP
Full Member
O

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Originally Posted by limavady
Did you just buy it and have the option to return it at this point? Sounded like that when you said you could return it. I ask this because of another question which is won't it be another $380 to ship it back in 8 months? Wouldn't it be better to buy a cheaper keyboard while you're there and maybe sell that when you leave in 8 months? i checked amazon germany but am not sure of the euro/dollar exchange so don't know what kind of deal. Maybe you could find some place like costco in Germany and get one of those $500 casios! ----but it seems that germany shouldn't be a tough place to find pianos; were they perhaps even invented there?


My yamaha p155 is 1400 Euros in Germany. So into dollars that is even more. I paid 1 grand for the yamaha in America. Plus the 380 to send it, that is still less expensive.As for the cost to ship it back into America 8 months from now, I can't think that far ahead. I guess I'll worry about it when it happens.

So I understand what your saying but I have a very hard time buying something less expensive in Germany because it will most likely be something without weighted keys and it is very hard for me to play on those. Also it probably would not have a good harpsichord or organ sound like the p155. Thanks.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: octavian] #1259309
08/30/09 09:04 PM
08/30/09 09:04 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
O
octavian Offline OP
Full Member
octavian  Offline OP
Full Member
O

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
By the way, so now are we 100 percent certain based on the box that this will work in Germany. I'm betting 380 on it.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: octavian] #1259340
08/30/09 09:54 PM
08/30/09 09:54 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 379
California
L
limavady Offline
Full Member
limavady  Offline
Full Member
L

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 379
California
I was thinking it was just a given that it would be $380x2 more or less...but i hear what you're saying and i guess you have to expect to have to pay something for the cost of shipping back and forth. I was not thinking of your getting a P155 but maybe the casio that someone here mentioned being offered at costco for 490 i think....still. that's probably going to be a good bit more over there as well. I wonder if you could rent a decent DP from a music store or buy a used one. Not trying to talk you out of shipping your's just that the app. $800 made me wince.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: limavady] #1259359
08/30/09 10:33 PM
08/30/09 10:33 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,117
Virginia, USA
T
TimR Online content
4000 Post Club Member
TimR  Online Content
4000 Post Club Member
T

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,117
Virginia, USA
I recently returned from Germany.

I had American appliances that ran very well on German power with a step down transformer, and then of course some like clocks that couldn't because the frequency is different.

I bought a Yamaha keyboard over there that ran on 220 V. They are not convertable but when I returned I ran it on an air conditioner outlet and it works fine.

I work for the Army, and every Army base has thrift shops that sell stepdown transformers at a very reasonable rate. That's all you need to make your piano, stereo, television, etc. run. (Well, tv is a problem for other reasons.)

The travel adapters are overpriced and really won't work for your purposes. You need a transformer. It's about the size of a car battery (or motorcycle depending on the capacity) and weighs about the same. But cost is very reasonable, far cheaper than buying over there at the current exchange rate.


gotta go practice
Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: TimR] #1259441
08/31/09 03:28 AM
08/31/09 03:28 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,946
Banned
T
theJourney Offline
3000 Post Club Member
theJourney  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
T

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,946
Banned
Originally Posted by TimR
I recently returned from Germany.

I had American appliances that ran very well on German power with a step down transformer, and then of course some like clocks that couldn't because the frequency is different.

I bought a Yamaha keyboard over there that ran on 220 V. They are not convertable but when I returned I ran it on an air conditioner outlet and it works fine.

I work for the Army, and every Army base has thrift shops that sell stepdown transformers at a very reasonable rate. That's all you need to make your piano, stereo, television, etc. run. (Well, tv is a problem for other reasons.)

The travel adapters are overpriced and really won't work for your purposes. You need a transformer. It's about the size of a car battery (or motorcycle depending on the capacity) and weighs about the same. But cost is very reasonable, far cheaper than buying over there at the current exchange rate.


This is not correct. You only need a stepdown transformer for American appliances that only accept 110V input. The OP has clearly verified that his P155 is equipped with an international adaptor that accepts a range of AC input including EU levels. The only thing he will need is a tiny plug converter to go from US wall plug to a German wall plug.

Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: theJourney] #1259487
08/31/09 06:59 AM
08/31/09 06:59 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,117
Virginia, USA
T
TimR Online content
4000 Post Club Member
TimR  Online Content
4000 Post Club Member
T

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,117
Virginia, USA
Originally Posted by theJourney
Originally Posted by TimR
I recently returned from Germany.

I had American appliances that ran very well on German power with a step down transformer, and then of course some like clocks that couldn't because the frequency is different.

I bought a Yamaha keyboard over there that ran on 220 V. They are not convertable but when I returned I ran it on an air conditioner outlet and it works fine.

I work for the Army, and every Army base has thrift shops that sell stepdown transformers at a very reasonable rate. That's all you need to make your piano, stereo, television, etc. run. (Well, tv is a problem for other reasons.)

The travel adapters are overpriced and really won't work for your purposes. You need a transformer. It's about the size of a car battery (or motorcycle depending on the capacity) and weighs about the same. But cost is very reasonable, far cheaper than buying over there at the current exchange rate.


This is not correct. You only need a stepdown transformer for American appliances that only accept 110V input. The OP has clearly verified that his P155 is equipped with an international adaptor that accepts a range of AC input including EU levels. The only thing he will need is a tiny plug converter to go from US wall plug to a German wall plug.


I missed that post.

You are 100% right. He has a dual voltage wall wart, so he's fine. He just needs an adaptor to convert the flat pronged American plug to the round prong Euro plug.

They should be about $2 each, if you don't get stuck buying the $40 kit that has all the adaptors for the other overseas countries. Radio Shack might have them, PX's have them if you have a military friend, even German hardware stores (Praktiker) carry them. Best Buy and Circuit City had only the expensive kits last I looked. I had dozens but I donated them all when I returned, otherwise I'd be glad to mail you one.



gotta go practice
Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: starbug] #1259828
08/31/09 04:30 PM
08/31/09 04:30 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Denton Texas
LesCharles73 Offline
500 Post Club Member
LesCharles73  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 744
Denton Texas
Maybe call Yamaha and ask??


Les C Deal




Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: starbug] #1261436
09/02/09 10:43 PM
09/02/09 10:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 316
SE Michigan
D
DaveInMichigan Offline
Full Member
DaveInMichigan  Offline
Full Member
D

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 316
SE Michigan
Starbug, he is not talking about a step-down converter but just a plug adapter. As Octavian mentioned, the box can take the input of 100 to 240V, which means a step-down converter is not needed.

Octavian, since you have checked (and I just checked mine too) that the box can take up to 240V, it does mean that you don't need a converter, but the plug will be different in Germany, so you need to get a plug adapter. You can get a general purpose one that can be used in different countries.

Ok, so that was the easy answer.

However, if you are going to use it for 8 months, you might want to consider getting a small voltage converter (or step-down converter as mentioned earlier) in additional to the plug adapter (option 2). A converter would change the voltage from 220 V to 110V. So you would go with an adapter on the wall plug, followed by the 220 to 110 converter, then your piano box. This way the piano box gets heated less.



Dave
Re: Using my American Yamaha p155 in Germany. [Re: DaveInMichigan] #1261630
09/03/09 08:03 AM
09/03/09 08:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 299
England
athomik Offline
Full Member
athomik  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 299
England
The PA300B/PA301 works on 100-240Volts AC. As these adaptors have a separate mains lead, all you need to do is to get a 'figure of 8' mains lead from your local electrical store when you get to Europe and use that with your existing power adaptor. Frequency (50/60 Hertz) has no effect.


Adrian Thomas
Adrian Thomas Music Services
Service Engineer - Hybrid Pianos & Strings

Moderated by  Piano World 

(ad)
Sweetwater - Keyboards
Sweetwater
New Topics - Multiple Forums
One vs. Two-Hnaded Sight Reading
by BbAltered. 11/15/18 01:08 PM
Casio PX-160 or Yamaha P-125 for Beginner
by jediknight. 11/15/18 11:42 AM
Late 19th - early 20th century Pleyel pianos.
by Wckoek. 11/15/18 08:36 AM
John Lewis Christmas ad 2018
by Timpskie. 11/15/18 06:40 AM
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Petrof
Forum Statistics
Forums40
Topics188,342
Posts2,761,353
Members91,493
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Please Support Our Advertisers
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

Sweetwater

PianoTeq Petrof
Piano Buyer Spring 2018
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2018 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2