2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
64 members (Bellyman, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, btcomm, Animisha, 14 invisible), 2,019 guests, and 354 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
OP Offline
D
Anybody have any experiece using the "Play Piano In A Flash" book/DVD series by Scott Houston? It was recently advertised on my local PBS station fund raiser.

I am a novice keyboard player, and want to be able to quickly learn how to do basic pop/jazz keyboard accompanyments/comping from lead sheets.

Learning classical piano is a different animal...

Thanks!

David

500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
IMO .....this is better

www.pianoforall.com

Scott's approach is very realistic, and he gives a great reason to play and learn songs only you want to play. I find his playing style pretty simplistic, however striving towards a more ambient purpose. Music is what you make of it no matter what style/genre. I mean this in the best possible way.

I found the "Play Piano In A Flash" book to be well worth the purchase.

Last edited by sirch59; 08/10/09 10:37 PM.
D
OP Offline
D
Dannac and sirch59,

Thanks for your feedback. Actually at this point, simple is very good! I will take a look at the website tonight, and have ordered the book from the library

500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
He is a salesman when he claims everything is "so easy"... it is physically much harder to execute what he suggests than he leads potential customers to beleive it to be.

N
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
N