2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, clothearednincompo, bcalvanese, booms, 10 invisible), 1,967 guests, and 273 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1246155 08/09/09 11:50 AM
E
edzio Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Hello everyone. This is my first post. I am a newbie who is about to inherit a family heirloom from my in-laws. It's a circa 1935 George Steck 6' grand piano. My wife and I are very excited about it. We took it to what we believe is a reputable restoration business and got some recommendations for various work needed to restore the piano. We are leaning toward restringing and new tuning posts as well as a complete reconditioning of the action. We also have the option of refinishing the soundboard and plate which we were not going to do. My question is would we be foolish to not refinish the soundboard and plate at this time? As a classical guitar player I have always heard discouragement toward refinishing a sounboard if at all possible. This idea discourages me from doing this to the piano as well as it may change the sound of the piano for the worse. Am I worrying about nothing and is this commonplace for a piano? The soundboard is in good condition as is the piano overall. Cleaning the soundboard and the plate is included in the repairs mentioned above. Mainly it seems we're dealing with normal age related repairs and it needs a good cleaning. Any advice you can give will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member