2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
37 members (Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, 4 invisible), 1,329 guests, and 280 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
N
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
N
Here is a book by a great jazz piano teacher Ray Santisi I studied with at Berklee years ago. I am ordering myself from Amazon and a CD is included to hear the lessons. The link is:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/08...amp;pf_rd_p=470938631&pf_rd_i=507846

Long link, yikes! Anyway, this book looks like a good jazz technique source. When I get it, I will review it here and see if it's something that could benefit other jazz piano students.

katt

H
H
Mark Levine's book is what made me realize I needed a teacher. He doesn't really fill in the blanks.

Charles Walter model 1500 upright
H
H
I'm sorry, that was a bit vague. Mark Levine's book as I see it now is a sort of outline. From his comments/text it seems he expects the student to listen to a lot of music (he lists recommended recordings) and learn from that. In a way it is ear training, listening and learning and applying. He does not give you specifics but seems to want the reader to develop those by listening. So I personally didn't get enough direction from that and ended up seeking a teacher.

Charles Walter model 1500 upright
Originally Posted by etcetra