2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (APianistHasNoName, Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 10 invisible), 1,866 guests, and 275 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1245453 08/07/09 04:22 PM
M
Mr.A Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Hi, im new to this forum, im sorry in advance for my long message smile.

Im a first year "classical" composition student and I've been playing the piano for more than three years, which is not that long, but since I made the decision of going with music all the way and since I was an adult beginner with a lot of drive and love for the "craft", I was doing 5-7 hour practice sessions every day, and I pretty much breathe music 24 hours a day.
today Im at a good level of playing and understanding of the material and for a very long time Ive been wanting to teach.

Im sure that I can do a good job, because first, I really want to teach and I have a lot of respect for the role that a teacher plays in a life of a student, and second, I know that I can devote myself and give a 100% in order to pass on the joy of music and playing.

My problem is that im a little afraid of taking the responsibility of someone's future.
I feel that I cant really garuntee a student that I wont make mistakes as an inexperienced teacher.
on the other hand, experience wont form on its own, and maybe I should just read all I can read about the diffrent approaches of piano teaching and dive in, prefecting my swimming as I go along....

I would love to hear your inputs, and get some recommendations for good pedagogy books.

thanks.

M
M
Hey Mr. A....I amd Mrs. A!!!