2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 15 invisible), 2,119 guests, and 324 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
R
rabu Offline OP
OP Offline
R
I am a piano teacher who knows little about organs. I recently had a prospective student's mom ask about piano lessons for her daughter who wants to play the organ (they already have an organ at home). Does this preschool girl need to decide on either piano or organ and then go to a teacher who plays that actual instrument? Or would she be able to learn and practice piano music, taught to her from a piano teacher, on her organ? If she decides on piano lessons now what (if any) problems would she experience in switching to the organ later?

H
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
H
I don't see how she would be able to reach the pedals, so I would guess piano is a better choice. She could try organ when she is older.

[Linked Image]
T
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
T
When I asked a good organist for lessons, she told me to come back after I'd made some progress on piano. Apparently it is the common wisdom that organ skills are built on piano skills.

So that's what I'm doing. Still hope to get to the organ someday. Though at my age the clock is ticking <grin>.

I don't know if the common wisdom is true, but every good organist I know started on piano, and the ones I've talked to have all recommended doing that.

Organ keyboards are unweighted and if that is her only practice instrument, I think she'll have trouble with the piano lessons.